Listen Now!
Contact Me
ADJ•ective Composers' Collective


#@&%!* (expletive deleted)
for Percussion Quartet
Andrea Reinkemeyer (Ann Arbor, Michigan - 2000)

Purchase Score & Parts:

Program Notes:
Download a PDF of the Program Notes and Andrea's Bio

#@&%!* (expletive deleted) for Percussion Quartet was premiered in Ann Arbor, Michigan in December 2000. This dynamic piece exhibits a heightened state of frenetic energy through explosive outbursts and a bubbling undercurrent of churning rhythmic figures. It explores disparate musical influences like popular and world music, while highlighting the flexibility and virtuosity of the percussion ensemble. The title reflects the demanding physicality of the individual parts and the tricky ensemble work. In fact, I was once told the expletive should have been inserted!

Many thanks to Evan Chambers, Kristin Kuster, Roland Vazquez, Miller Asbill, Jay Bordeleau, Carrie Magin, Jason Markzon, and André Dowell for their artistic support.

Percussion Key

Percussion I:
Timpani, Roto-toms, Bass Drum, Bongos, Small Cowbell, Mounted Tambourine, Suspended Cymbal

Percussion II:
Marimba, Bass Drum with Pedal, Mounted Tambourine, Temple Blocks, Large Cowbell, Hand Chimes, China Cymbal, Sizzle Cymbal, Chinese Gong, Hi-hat, Suspended Cymbal

Percussion III:
Timbale, Cowbell, Xylophone

Percussion IV:
Floor Toms, Congas, Wood Block, Triangle



Premiere Performance:

Monday, December 4, 2000 - 8:00 p.m.
Composers' Forum Concert Series
Britton Recital Hall, School of Music
University of Michigan (Ann Arbor, Michigan)
Percussion: Jay Bordeleau, Jason Markzon, Carrie Magin, André Dowell
Miller Asbill, Conductor


Friday, November 1, 2002 - 8:00 p.m.
Susquehanna University New Music Ensemble (SUNME)
Stretansky Hall
Susquehanna University (Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania)
Percussion: Deana Teeter, Thrad Weibley, Heather Wilkinson, Marc Garside
Adam Josephson, conductor

Inaugural Concert

Tuesday, December 6, 2005 - 7:30 p.m.
Sonict Ensemble
Light Recital Hall
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (UW-W)
Percussion: Bret Dorgan, Nicole Konz, Trevor Saint, Eric Sheffield
Tobie Wilkinson, director

Concert 2

Thursday, September 15, 2011 - 2:30 p.m.
IAWM Conference 2011, "In Beauty We Walk"
Ardrey Auditorium
Northern Arizona University College of Arts & Letters (Flagstaff, Arizona)
Download Concert 2 on iTunes (first piece)
NAU Percussion Ensemble
Dr. Steve Hemphill, director

NAU Percussion Ensemble Concert

Friday, November 18, 2011 - 7:30 p.m. - $
Ardrey Auditorium
Northern Arizona University College of Arts & Letters (Flagstaff, Arizona)
Press Release
NAU Percussion Ensemble
Dr. Steve Hemphill, director