Listen Now!
Contact Me
ADJ•ective Composers' Collective


in the speaking silence
for Alto Saxophone & Bassoon
Andrea Reinkemeyer (Sherwood, Oregon - 2018)
Commissioned by the Post-Haste Reed Duo
Dedicated to the loving memory of my mother, Linda Reinkemeyer

Purchase Score & Parts:


Program Notes:

in the speaking silence for Alto Saxophone and Bassoon (2018) was commissioned by the Post-Haste Reed Duo -- Sean Fredenburg, saxophone and Javier Rodriguez, bassoon -- for a "rituals"-themed concert. The piece is lovingly dedicated to the memory of my mother, Linda, who passed away while I was writing the work. To honor her love of hymns, I wove the rhythmic pattern from the stark refrain of Philp P. Bliss's hymn, It is Well with my Soul throughout the piece. The title comes from the second line of Christina Rossetti's poem, Echo.


Come to me in the silence of the night;
    Come in the speaking silence of a dream;
Come with soft rounded cheeks and eyes as bright
    As sunlight on a stream;
        Come back in tears,
O memory, hope, love of finished years.

Oh dream how sweet, too sweet, too bitter sweet,
    Whose wakening should have been in Paradise,
Where souls brimfull of love abide and meet;
    Where thirsting longing eyes
        Watch the slow door
That opening, letting in, lets out no more.

Yet come to me in dreams, that I may live
    My very life again tho' cold in death:
Come back to me in dreams, that I may give
    Pulse for pulse, breath for breath:
        Speak low, lean low,
As long ago, my love, how long ago.


Premiere Performance:

Thursday, May 12, 2018 - 8:00 p.m.
Flutter Studios (114 Alaskan Way S. Seattle, WA 98104)

Saturday, May 19, 2018 - 8:00 p.m.
New Expressive Works (N.E.W.)
810 SE Belmont, Portland, OR 97214
More info