Listen Now!
Contact Me
ADJ•ective Composers' Collective


Souvenirs for Piano


  1. Passacaglia for a Sunny Day
  2. Cold, Rainy Day
  3. Samba!
  1. Floating
  2. Nocturne
  3. Haunted House
  4. Sorrow
Dance Suite
  1. Prelude
  2. Dance for the Sun
  3. Tangential Tango
  4. Hydroelectric Slide
Andrea Reinkemeyer (Ann Arbor, Michigan - 2006)
The 2006 commissioned work is funded by:
Music Teachers' National Association (MTNA) and the Iowa MTA.

Program Notes:

Souvenirs for Piano Solo is a set of graduated pieces (intermediate to advanced) for students of the piano. In order to create a sense of cohesion between the movements, I divided the work into three smaller pieces: Mementos, Miniatures, and Dance Suite. The movements which make up Mementos focus on developing the left hand as an independent voice and melodic instrument. All of movements of Miniatures are based on the same fluid 12-tone row. Have no fear! The purpose of this is not to scare the student away from new music, rather, I wish to help the student adjust to the sound of dissonance and to begin to recognize how composers' use these sounds to create musical tension and release. The Dance Suite introduces tricky counterpoint and works to develop agility. I have found that dance movements help the student feel the ebb and flow of the music in their own body which in turn informs their interpretation of the piece. The 2006 commissioned work is funded by Music Teachers' National Association (MTNA) and the Iowa MTA.


Premiere Performance:

Sunday, June 4, 2006 - 7:30 p.m.
University of Iowa Faculty Recital
Clapp Recital Hall, University of Iowa (Iowa City)
Mementos performed by Gabrielle Bui
Miniatures performed by Kyle Naig
Dance Suite performed by Austin Kendrick

Sounds South of Elk Snout:

Sunday, July 30, 2006 - 6:30 p.m.
A Koski-Wirkkala Family Recital
The final concert of Finn-Fest 2006 (Program)
Pioneer Lutheran Church (Deep River, WA)
Miniatures and Tangential Tango from Dance Suite
Andrea L. Reinkemeyer, piano