Listen Now!
Contact Me
ADJ•ective Composers' Collective


Piano Suite

  1. Anxiety (Listen)
  2. Locked in a Cell
  3. Escape
  4. Trip the Light Fantastic
Andrea Reinkemeyer (Eugene, Oregon - 1998)

Program Notes:
Piano Suite (1998) is comprised of four studies on contemporary music technique. The first movement, Anxiety, is a study in rhythm; the main theme is stated by the right hand at the opening of the piece. During the restatement of the theme, the inversion is presented with some rhythmic alteration. Locked in a Cell is based on one of Schoenberg's favorite cells (major and minor third). Escape is a bi-tonal piece that utilizes open fifths to project an expansive feeling. Trip the Light Fantastic is a dance in B Lochrian.


Premiere Performance:

Saturday, May 1, 1999, 3:00 p.m.
Senior Composition Recital
Beall Concert Hall, School of Music
The University of Oregon (Eugene, Oregon)
David Rhodes, piano