Listen Now!
Contact Me
ADJ•ective Composers' Collective


Hay holder on the Koski family farm (Virginia, Minnesota).
Photo: Andrea Reinkemeyer (All rights reserved).

Lured by the Horizon
for Orchestra (2005)

  1. Growth
  2. Rust
  3. Currents
  4. Cut
  5. Return
Andrea Reinkemeyer (Ann Arbor, Michigan - 2005)
This piece was generously funded by a Predoctoral Fellowship from The University of Michigan, Horace H. Rackham Graduate School. It is lovingly dedicated to my parents, Carl and Linda



"Compelling and adventurous, an important and fascinating work for orchestra." (ACO)



Piccolo, Flute, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in B-flat (2nd doubles Bass Clarinet), 2 Bassoons (2nd doubles Contrabasson), 4 Horns in F, 3 Trumpets in C, 2 Tenor Trombones, 1 Bass Trombone, Tuba, Timpani, 3 Percussion, Piano (doubles Celesta), Strings

Performance Materials:


Performance Materials Will Be Available Soon - Contact Me

Program Notes:


Lured by the Horizon (2005) for orchestra is in five movements or “snapshots” of the Pacific Northwest. It was premiered by The University of Michigan Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Nikolas Caoile on March 14, 2006 at Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

I. Growth examines the adaptability, hopeful nature, and adventurous spirit of the people who lived in the region during the late nineteenth- and early twentieth-centuries. Since the 1840s and into the present, people have moved west with the hope of building a better life. This led to boomtowns throughout the region during the gold rush period (1848-56) and logging camps during the Depression-era (1929-41).

II. Rust is based on a set of photographs taken by the composer in 2004 that examine the contrast between the rich natural beauty of the region with evidence of the dire economic depression that follows the collapse of an exploitative industry.

III. Currents considers the Columbia River Basin that extends from Oregon to Canada, and from the Pacific Ocean to Idaho; it provides food, commerce, hydroelectric power, and recreational entertainment for the region. The river’s magnificent beauty and surprisingly treacherous undercurrents inspire two musical motives which guide the listener through the movement.

IV. Cut focuses on the dual nature of the logging industry as both an employer of thousands of people and the catalyst for severe environmental changes in the region. This drama is underscored by juxtaposing a dissonant harmonic language with stark woodwind interjections and string pizzicati.

V. Return is inspired by my emotional reactions to photographs that I took in 2004 of abandoned barns being re-absorbed by nature. Framed in a tonal harmonic musical language, I combine musical materials from the previous four movements to evoke how the end of one entity can foster and enrich that which follows.





Premiere Performance:

Tuesday, March 14, 2006 - 8:00 p.m.
Hill Auditorium, University of Michigan (Ann Arbor, MI)
University Symphony Orchestra (USO)
Nikolas Caoile, conductor
Thursday, May 18, 2006 - 10:00 a.m.
Miller Theater, Columbia University (New York, NY)
15th Annual Underwood New Music Readings
American Composers Orchestra (ACO)
Jeffrey Milarsky, conductor
Thursday, May 26, 2016 - 7:00 p.m.
Petree Recital Hall, Wanda L. Bass School of Music
Oklahoma City University (OK)

Crimson Voyage - McKeever Arnold
Lured by the Horizon - Andrea Reinkemeyer
A Time To Grow - John Harvey
For Many Chairs (my crow some funny) - Jamie Wind Whitmarsh
Force of a Rainbow - Daniel Nelson
Oklahoma Composers' Orchestra
Jamie Wind Whitmarsh, conductor